10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (2024)

Improving your KPI conversion requires diverse skills across copywriting, digital psychology, and web analytics.

This guide explores the analytics side.

Today, you’ll learn the following:

  • What is Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)?
  • What are Conversion KPIs?
  • How to Track Conversion KPIs with DashThis
  • Automate Your Reporting

What is Conversion Rate Optimization (CRO)?

Conversion rate optimization (CRO) is increasing the percentage of users to complete a desired action.

This can look like this:

  • Boosting the number of orders in an e-commerce store… after removing distracting elements on the checkout page
  • Increasing the number of paying customers for a B2B software website… after arranging the pricing tiers from cheapest to most expensive (or vice versa)
  • Improving the number of conversions on a sales page… after mirroring the exact words and phrases from your VoC data in your headlines, body copy, and call-to-action (CTA) button

CRO is a systematic approach scattered across multiple disciplines.

As you can see from the examples above, it requires mastery in fields like copywriting, user experience, web analytics, product messaging, and digital psychology.

What are Conversion KPIs?

Your CRO projects will involve a myriad of conversion KPIs.

Conversion KPIs are a bunch of metrics that track the number of users successfully converted to the next stage (e.g., website visitors to leads, trial users to paying customers).

Here’s how it might look for a lead generation ad campaign on LinkedIn:

Conversion KPI: Attract X new leads monthly

Conversion metrics:

  • Cost per acquisition (CPA): Measure the amount of money you’re spending to acquire a new lead
  • Conversion rate: Monitor the percentage of users who downloaded your lead magnet
  • Click-through rate from ad to landing page: Track the effectiveness of your ad copy, banner, offer, and CTA, among other factors

Conversions is an important KPI that monitors your marketing efforts' return on investment (ROI) and ensures that you’re not overspending on customer acquisition.

Why are they crucial to measure?

Conversion KPIs are crucial because they evaluate your overall marketing performance.

These key performance indicators tell you if your marketing campaigns resonate with your target audience. When you measure them alongside other data, you can identify your biggest conversion road blockers at the most granular level.

That’s huge.

Because once you figure out what's wiping out your bottom line, you can quickly fix them and reclaim those conversion actions.

Top Conversion KPIs & Metrics to Optimize for Success

How do you improve your overall digital marketing strategy? Use the metrics below to diagnose your website traffic and campaign performance.

Website conversion KPIs

Your website is a digital welcome mat. Start measuring these metrics to understand user behavior, attract returning visitors, and increase engagement.

  1. Unique visitors

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (1)

Unique visitors track the number of people visiting a page (or multiple pages) on a website in a period.

  1. Click-through rate

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (2)

Click-through rate is the percentage of clicks received from all users who viewed an ad or page.

  1. Traffic sources


10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (3)

Traffic sources track the mediums that drive visitors to your website (e.g., referral, paid search, email traffic).

  1. Average time on website

Average time on website calculates the average time users spend on your site. The longer a user spends on a website, the more engaged they are.

  1. Bounce rate

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (4)

Bounce rate is the percentage of visitors leaving a web page (or clicking the back button) taking no action.

It’s measured against the page’s total visits and usually tracked to gauge user experience (i.e., speed of website, whether SEO blog posts match searcher intent).

Marketing campaign conversion KPIs

Websites and marketing channels go hand in hand. Note the following metrics that track your marketing campaign from beginning to end.

  1. Return on ad spend

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (5)

Return on ad spend (ROAS) is the amount of revenue a company earns for every dollar spent on advertising.

  1. Return on investment

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (6)

Return on investment (ROI) is a company's returns from all marketing activities (e.g., hiring agencies, spending on ads).

  1. Conversions and conversion rate

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (7)

Conversions is the number of users who completed a desired action among all visitors in a specific time frame.

  1. Cost per acquisition


10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (8)

Cost per acquisition (CPA) tracks the total cost to gain a new customer. This is the metric to measure when you want to ensure you’re not attracting new customers at the expense of profitability.

  1. Cost per thousand impressions

Cost per thousand impressions (CPM), or cost per mile, is the total cost of 1,000 impressions on a web page.

  1. Customer lifetime value

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (9)

Customer lifetime value (CLTV) is the total value of a customer throughout their relationship with your company.

Track it to measure your retention efforts.

Tips and Best Practices to Optimize Conversion Rate

The conversion rate is a critical metric influencing customer acquisition cost and revenue growth. Apply these three powerful tips to turn the tide against low conversions.

Offer clear, concise and compelling copywriting

Great copywriting is like a top-performing salesperson.

The only difference?

Instead of pitching to individual customers, you’re selling to everyone at once. That’s potentially hundreds and thousands of money on the table.

Ensure that your copy reflects customers’ struggles and desires before positioning your product as the best solution. Research to capture voice of customer (VoC) data and mirror back their language to convey that you understand their needs.

Optimize CTAs

What do all-powerful calls to action have in common?

They include power words that elicit an emotional response.

The next time you want to motivate customers to take instant action, optimize your CTAs with power words like free, grow, and discover.

And demonstrate the value of your product before making a big ask.

For example, a productivity software company looking to increase the number of subscribers in its email list might create a copy and CTA like this:

Join [newsletter] to unlock world-class insights to work less and earn more every Monday.”

[Subscribe FREE]

And while you’re at it, add a subscriber’s testimonial to drive conversions.

Collect and analyze visitor data

CRO involves active experimentation.

Audit and analyze your campaigns and apply the tips above to optimize your conversion rate KPI. Conduct A/B tests to see which variations outperform the rest.

Consider tracking these multiple campaign performances with an automated reporting tool like DashThis.

That way, you can automatically gather your entire marketing data into one beautiful dashboard and quickly analyze your performance at a glance.

How to Track Conversion KPIs with DashThis

Long gone are the days of manually hopping from one platform to another and copy-pasting data rows into spreadsheets.

With a sleek reporting tool like DashThis, you can turn all your marketing data into one customizable dashboard.

Here’s how it works:

  • Select a report from 40+ templates
  • Integrate your favorite marketing analytics tools with DashThis
  • Select your metrics in Preset Widgets

DashThis will automatically gather the conversion KPIs and metrics you selected and turn them into beautiful graphs.

Here’s how it might look when you create a social media report.

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (10)

Drag and drop the metrics as you desire to form a cohesive look.

Consider following these tips to take your marketing report to the next level:

  • Add notes within the dashboard to provide context. This lets clients and the marketing team easily view your comments without leaving the platform.
  • Merge widgets to combine data from different sources (e.g., Facebook CTR, LinkedIn CTR, and Twitter CTR within a single social media CTR widget)
  • Include recommendations within the dashboard to outline the next steps. No more emails or awkward video calls.

Share the report via email or a URL link.

Better yet, distribute your report automatically (via email dispatches) to give clients real-time access to their dashboards.

Grab your free 15-day trial here to create reports in the blink of an eye.

Grab this digital marketing report template

Customers engage with brands at different touch points, which makes it increasingly difficult to keep track of the entire customer journey.

Use the digital marketing report below to measure your CRO efforts across multiple channels.

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (11)

Grab this report with your own data!

With a visual layout like this, you can easily identify your best-performing campaigns, channels, and content.

DashThis gathers your entire marketing KPIs into a single report.

Increasing the total number of leads in your B2B sales funnel via Facebook and LinkedIn?

Retargeting abandoned shoppers in a win-back email marketing campaign and Google Ads?

Tracking SEO performance on Ahrefs, Google Search Console, Google Analytics, and Bing?

All you have to do is connect these channels, pick a template (or start from scratch), and pull your metrics with the click of a button.

DashThis will handle the rest.

Automate Your Reporting

CRO is a strategic approach requiring diverse skills across complex disciplines like copywriting, web analytics, and digital psychology.

Apply these tried-and-tested tips to drive more valuable actions from the same users without exceeding your marketing budget.

Better yet, complement your analysis with a reporting tool like DashThis.

By automating your data collection, you can quickly track all your A/B testing campaigns and analyze what’s working simultaneously.

DashThis grabs your entire marketing data into one beautiful dashboard automatically. Pricing starts at $33/month when billed yearly. Grab your free 15-day trial here to automate your reporting and gain back hours of your time today.

10+ Conversion KPIs to Optimize for Success (Examples & Tips) | Dashthis (2024)

FAQs

What is conversion KPI? ›

Conversion KPIs are a bunch of metrics that track the number of users successfully converted to the next stage (e.g., website visitors to leads, trial users to paying customers). Here's how it might look for a lead generation ad campaign on LinkedIn: Conversion KPI: Attract X new leads monthly.

What is KPI with examples? ›

An example of a key performance indicator is, “targeted new customers per month”. Metrics measure the success of everyday business activities that support your KPIs. While they impact your outcomes, they're not the most critical measures. Some examples include “monthly store visits” or “white paper downloads”.

What is a KPI to measure the success of a promotion? ›

Defining Key Performance Indicators (KPIs)

Compare the sales figures during the promotion with the average sales during non-promotional periods to assess the impact of the promotion on your bottom line. Analyse revenue data to identify any changes in average order value or customer lifetime value.

What are KPIs and how can KPIs contribute toward the success of operational plans? ›

Key performance indicators (KPIs) are quantifiable measurements used to gauge a company's overall long-term performance. KPIs specifically help determine a company's strategic, financial, and operational achievements, especially compared to those of other businesses within the same sector.

What are measures of conversion? ›

Conversion Metrics Brands Should be Measuring
  • Lead Inquiries. A lead inquiry can be anything that demonstrates a visitors interest in your products or services. ...
  • Click-Through Rate (CTR) ...
  • Sales & Revenue. ...
  • 4 Cost Per Acquisition (CPA) ...
  • Return on Ad Spend (ROAS) ...
  • Time on Site. ...
  • Interactions Per Visit. ...
  • Value Per Visit.
May 19, 2020

What is conversion rate and examples? ›

Conversion rates are calculated by simply taking the number of conversions and dividing that by the number of total ad interactions that can be tracked to a conversion during the same time period. For example, if you had 50 conversions from 1,000 interactions, your conversion rate would be 5%, since 50 ÷ 1,000 = 5%.

What are key success factors and KPIs? ›

The difference between KPIs and CSFs is the difference between cause and effect:
  • CSFs are the cause of success, i.e. they set out what you need to do to be successful. ...
  • KPIs are the effects of your actions, i.e. they measure whether you are successful or not.

What are KPI and success criteria? ›

Examples of product success criteria are increasing user retention, reducing churn, growing revenue, or improving customer satisfaction. KPIs are the metrics that you use to track and quantify your progress towards your product success criteria.

What is a successful KPI? ›

Measurable. It might seem obvious, but the best KPIs are easy to measure. An effective KPI avoids generalized goals like, “Improvement in warehouse department.” Instead, an effective KPI should be based on a solid, focused goal that can produce qualitative and quantifiable measures.

What are the 4 KPIs every manager has to use? ›

Here are the reasons why these KPIs are picked time and time again:
  • Customer Satisfaction. It's simple, without customers your organisation wouldn't be here. ...
  • Internal Process Quality. ...
  • Employee Satisfaction. ...
  • Financial Performance Index. ...
  • Where to go from here.

What is an example of a smart KPI? ›

Examples of Smart KPI? A simple yet smart KPI for a marketing firm would be increasing the number of followers by 30% every month. Another prolific example of a smart KPI is Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC). The company spends $100 to acquire one customer.

What is conversion an indicator of? ›

Use your conversion rate as an indicator of whether you are tracking meaningful conversions. Review the actions you're tracking to ensure they are distinctive and closely reflect your online goals.

What is KPI cost per conversion? ›

Cost Per Conversion is the average amount spent on advertising campaigns to achieve a single conversion, such as a sale, sign-up, or other desired action. This metric helps evaluate the efficiency and profitability of a campaign.

What is a good conversion metric? ›

Gross and net revenue are valuable conversion metrics for businesses that run e-commerce sites. Analyze sales according to traffic sources, social channels, email campaigns, and other segments.

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