Gelatin Nutrition Facts and Health Benefits (2023)

Gelatin is a flavorless, colorless, stabilizer and thickener that is used to make desserts such as pudding, mousse, marshmallows, candy, cakes, ice cream, some yogurts, and of course fruit gelatin, such as Jell-O. Gelatin is also used to make some non-food items such as shampoos or skincare products.

Thickening agents like gelatin can be made from different ingredients. Gelatin is made by boiling the skin, tendons, ligaments, or bones of animals (usually cows or pigs) in water. This process releases collagen, a protein that provides structure and also happens to be the most abundant protein in the human body. After the collagen is extracted it is concentrated and filtered, then cooled, extruded, and dried to make gelatin.

Because animal products are used to make gelatin, it is not a vegan-friendly food and even some non-vegans choose not to consume it to support animal rights. But there are also gelatin alternatives that are made from non-animal sources.

Gelatin Nutrition Facts

The following nutrition information is provided by the USDA for a single envelope or about one-tablespoon (7 grams) of gelatin. However, a full envelope may not always represent a single serving.

According to Knox, a company that makes gelatin, a single serving is more likely to be 1.75 grams. The company states on their website that a single serving provides 6 calories, 0 grams fat, 0 grams carbohydrate, and 1.6 grams of protein. This serving size equals about a 1/2 cup serving when mixed with water.

  • Calories: 23.4
  • Fat: 0g
  • Sodium: 13.7mg
  • Carbs: 0g
  • Fiber: 0g
  • Sugars: 0g
  • Protein: 6g


While gelatin provides about 30 calories per tablespoon, none of those calories are from carbohydrates. There are 0 grams of total carbohydrate, including 0 grams of sugar, and 0 grams of fiber in gelatin.

Because gelatin contains no carbohydrates, it will not impact blood sugar levels when consumed. However, it should be noted that gelatin is not usually consumed alone. It is frequently used to thicken dessert foods that can be high in sugar and carbs and are likely to elevate your blood sugar levels. But the presence of gelatin will not change the impact.


There is no fat in a one-tablespoon serving of gelatin. Even a 100-gram serving contains less than a gram of fat.


Gelatin provides about 6 grams of protein per one-tablespoon serving. But remember that you are likely to consume much less than that. If you consume 1.75 grams, you won't even get a full gram of protein. So gelatin should not be considered a high-protein food

Vitamins and Minerals

Gelatin provides no significant vitamins or minerals. Even if it is consumed in larger quantities than is typical in recipes, the powder does not contribute any significant micronutrients.

Health Benefits

People who use gelatin as a food in recipes may not notice any substantial impact on their health by including the ingredient in their diet. It is consumed in such small amounts and in many cases used in foods that aren't consumed every day. But there are a few studies that have suggested that the use of gelatin may provide certain health benefits. There are also some medical uses for pharmaceutical-grade gelatin that are notable.

Treatment of Diarrhea

Some people use pectin or gelatin to treat diarrhea when they prefer not to take traditional medications or when they don't want to give medications to their children. The belief is that the gelling agent that helps thicken foods can also help stools to form more effectively. However, the evidence supporting this benefit has been limited and inconsistent.

There have been some studies suggesting that gelatin tannate can reduce chronic diarrhea. Gelatin tannate is gelatin that contains tannic acid. At least one study has found that gelatin tannate in combination with other products (such as probiotics) may be effective. But most studies indicate that further research is needed.

For example, a 2020 review evaluated three studies involving 276 children who were given gelatin tannate for the treatment of diarrhea. Study authors found that there was no difference between gelatin tannate and placebo in the duration of diarrhea, stool frequency at day two, diarrhea at day three, vomiting, or other adverse events.

Gelatin products are sometimes recommended during the treatment of diarrhea along with a liquid diet. But it is not because the gelatin provides any medicinal value, instead this is recommended simply because sometimes it feels good to eat "solid" food when you're on a liquid diet and gelatin provides a more solid mouthfeel.

Improved Bone Health

Another purported benefit of gelatin is for the protection of bones. But again, high-quality evidence supporting its use is limited.

Some early studies suggested that hydrolyzed gelatin products such as pharmaceutical-grade collagen hydrolysate may help reduce pain in patients with osteoarthritis of the knee or hip. Researchers thought that it may have a beneficial effect on cartilage metabolism. But more recent studies need to be done to confirm this benefit.

Another very small study (involving just eight healthy male subjects) investigated whether or not a gelatin supplement ingested before intermittent physical activity training could boost collagen production to help prevent musculoskeletal injuries. Researchers compared the ingestion of a 5- or 15-gram dose of vitamin C-enriched gelatin versus a placebo.

They found that adding gelatin to an intermittent exercise program improved collagen synthesis and could play a beneficial role in injury prevention and tissue repair. But the study was so small in scope that it would be hard to know if this benefit could translate to a wider population in other circumstances.

What is Collagen?

Provides Compliant Recipe Alternative

Those following certain specific diets can use gelatin to thicken foods instead of ingredients that are not compliant with their eating plan.

For example, those with wheat allergies or who have celiac disease, non-celiac gluten sensitivity, or who follow a gluten-free diet for other reasons may use other thickeners instead of flour in recipes. Cornstarch is one popular replacement, but gelatin can also be used. Cornstarch thickens when food is heated (like flour), but gelatin thickens when food is cooled.

Gelatin can also be used by those following low-carb or grain-free diets. Adding flour to foods like soups and stews can increase the carbohydrate count (albeit slightly). But gelatin can also be used when you want no carbs added. For instance, some cooks use a ratio of 1 ½ tsp gelatin per cup of stock to thicken soups.

May Reduce Hunger for Weight Loss

There is some limited evidence that a gelatin-based diet may be helpful during weight loss. One study published in The Journal of Nutrition compared a gelatin-based custard diet to a casein-based custard diet. Casein is a complete protein found in milk and dairy products, whereas gelatin is an incomplete protein.

The study involved 30 participants aged between 18 and 55 years old with a BMI between 20 and 33. During the experiment, each participant spent a 36-hour session in a respiration chamber which measures energy expenditure and substrate oxidation. Participants repeated the session four times spaced four weeks apart.

Body Mass Index (BMI) is a dated, biased measure that doesn’t account for several factors, such as body composition, ethnicity, race, gender, and age.

Despite being a flawed measure, BMI is widely used today in the medical community because it is an inexpensive and quick method for analyzing potential health status and outcomes.

During each of the four sessions, they consumed either a gelatin- or casein-based custard diet. Blood samples, and urine samples were obtained during each session as well as appetite scores to help determine appetite suppression. Appetite scores were measured on a visual analogue scale(VAS)—a measurement instrument that tries to measure a characteristic that includes a range of values and cannot easily be directly measured.

At the end of the experiment, the study authors found that the gelatin-based diet resulted in greater appetite suppression.

Energy expenditure was about the same on both diets and the casein-custard diet did a better job of preserving muscle mass. Study authors concluded that "in terms of weight loss for people with obesity, the greater hunger-suppressing effect of gelatin may play a role in reducing energy intake if this effect is maintained when consuming a gelatin diet in the long term. In addition, long-term use of casein may contribute to the preservation of fat-free mass."

It's important to put these findings into context, however. Custard-based diets are not likely to be sustainable for the long-term, and will not provide all of the essential nutrients that you need for a healthy body. However, brands like Knox advise that you may be able to use gelatin to make lower-in-calorie foods.


There are reports of gelatin allergy. In fact, according to the experts at Food Allergy Research and Education, allergy to gelatin is a common cause of an allergic reaction to vaccines, many of which contain pig gelatin as a stabilizer. Published case studies suggest that those who have reactions to vaccines may also test positive in skin tests to several flavored gelatins (e.g., Jell-O), as well unflavored gelatins (Knox). Report authors say that gelatin-related vaccine reactions are rare, but can be life-threatening.

The American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology also suggests that those with an allergy to beef, cow’s milk, or pork meat may have a higher risk of a gelatin allergy.

Adverse Effects

Gelatin is affirmed as "generally recognized as safe" (GRAS) by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Evidence of drug interactions is lacking.


The flavorless, colorless gelatin that you find in the baking aisle of your local grocery store comes in one variety, for the most part (although there are also flavored gelatin products, like Jell-O).

Gelatin products are made by extracting collagen from the connective tissue of animals, but manufacturers often don't disclose what type of animal bones were used. However, there are a few brands that disclose more information about the animals to help customers who uphold certain religious practices and traditions.

For instance, some people refrain from eating foods derived from pigs, such as those who only choose kosher or halal foods. Since many gelatin products are derived from pigs, these foods would not be compliant. But there are some beef gelatins that are made from slaughtered kosher meat that would be compliant. If the ingredients list is not specific, you can look for the kosher label on the product.

There are also non-meat gelatin alternatives. These include:

  • Agar-agar also called "agar" this thickener is derived from cooked, pressed seaweed. This gelling agent is available online and in some supermarkets in flaked form, powdered form, or in bars. When cooking with it, substitute agar-agar for gelatin using equal amounts if using the powdered form. If you're using flakes, a tablespoon is equal to about a teaspoon of the powder. Certain citrus fruits require more agar-agar when substituting for gelatin in recipes. And agar-agar is not the best gelling agent for recipes that include uncooked mangoes, papaya, and pineapple.
  • Pectin is a gelling agent that is found naturally in plants, especially apples and citrus fruits. Food manufacturers use pectin to make some types of yogurt and confectionery products. It is also used to enhance the mouthfeel of fruit-based beverages and can be used at home to thicken jams, jellies, and other foods.
  • Carrageen is also derived from seaweed. Also called Irish moss, this thickener is usually best for making softer gels and puddings.

When It's Best

Gelatin is available year-round in the baking section of grocery stores. You can also purchase from many online stores.

Storage and Food Safety

Gelatin should be kept in a sealed container and stored in a cool, dry place. According to the USDA, it should stay fresh for about three years when unopened and stored properly. Gelatin should not be frozen.

How to Prepare

The way that you use gelatin may depend in part on the type of recipe you're using it in. In general, however, when using a basic gelatin packet, you start by pouring the packet into a bowl that contains about 1/4 cup of cold water or other liquid. Let it stand for one minute so that the granules separate. Then add another 1/4 cup of boiling water and stir until the granules are completely dissolved.

If you are making a sweetened thickener, add two tablespoons of sugar to the cold water mixture when you add the granules. Then add a half cup of boiling water (instead of 1/4 cup), stir and dissolve.

Some recipes may require that you thicken foods that are heated on the stove. If this is the case, you still add the granules to cold water, but you'll use a saucepan instead of a bowl. Let it sit for a minute then heat the pan on low heat for about three minutes, stirring constantly until dissolved. Gelatin can also be dissolved using a blender or in the microwave.

If you are not following a specific recipe, but simply making a mold with fruit or other ingredients, you'll add the ingredients after the dissolving process and pour into a mold. Small metal molds generally chill faster than larger molds or glass molds. Chilling times vary but can take 20 to 45 minutes depending on the recipe.


Does gelatin really have benefits? ›

Gelatin contains proteins and antioxidants, which help protect the cells in the body, that can support the health of the digestive system, bones, skin, joints, and more. It's also an excellent source of: Calcium. Magnesium.

Is it healthy to eat gelatin everyday? ›

When taken by mouth: Gelatin is commonly consumed in foods. It is possibly safe when used in larger amounts as medicine, short-term. But taking high doses of 15 grams daily might increase the risk for side effects, including sore throat, swollen gums, and mouth sores.

What is the healthiest form of gelatin? ›

Whole-protein gelatin is better for improving gut health. It helps carry fluid through the intestines and can even coat the lining of the digestive tract as a soothing and protective layer. This is the type used to make gummy snacks and desserts and must be mixed into warm liquids.

Is there any nutritional value to Jell-O? ›

Although generally well tolerated, clear liquids do not provide adequate nutrients to patients. Generally, a clear liquid diet, including Jell-O, should not be followed long term to prevent inadequate nutrition. Jell-O is mainly sugar and gelatin and does not contain any health benefits.

Is eating gelatin as good as collagen? ›

In fact, both contain a comparable nutrient profile and offer a similar set of benefits. In particular, collagen and gelatin may both help reduce joint pain, promote gut health, reverse signs of aging, decrease hunger levels and strengthen the bones.

Who should avoid gelatin? ›

It's pretty clear why vegans don't eat things like beef and eggs. We can look at them and know they come from animals immediately. However, for some food items, identifying them as animal products isn't as obvious. Gelatin is one of those sneaky animal products that we don't think of.

Is gelatin a superfood? ›

Yes, gelatin. This ancient super food can remedy health ailments by healing holes in the gut, filling in nutrients missing from the Standard American Diet, and provide the structural matrix for your skin, hair, muscles, and bones.

Can eating gelatin help wrinkles? ›

Gelatin is a dietary source of collagen and eating or drinking collagen helps to increase the body's own collagen production. Increasing your collagen production helps to smooth out fine line facial lines and create firmer, plump skin. It's not just your face that can benefit from taking gelatin either.

Does gelatin help hair growth? ›

"Adding gelatin powder to your shampoo and conditioner is one way to see great benefits, or adding gelatin powder to a cup of tea once a day can also help promote hair growth," says Cristina. It's generally recommended to stir gelatin into hot drinks, as the substance doesn't blend well into cold drinks.

Is Knox gelatin the same as Jello? ›

Gelatin is used to prepare a variety of food products such as gelatine desserts, gummy candy, trifles, and marshmallow. Jello is an American brand name for a gelatin dessert, which is colloquially used to refer to all gelatin desserts. This is the key difference between gelatin and jello.

Is gelatin an inflammatory? ›

Gelatin Acts Directly on Inflammatory Cells

What you do need to know is that there is significant amounts of research which shows that gelatin (specifically the amino acids glycine and proline found in gelatin) stops the inflammation response!

How much gelatin should I take daily? ›

There's some evidence that gelatin in doses up to 10 grams daily can be safely used for up to 6 months. Gelatin can cause an unpleasant taste, sensation of heaviness in the stomach, bloating, heartburn, and belching. Gelatin can cause allergic reactions in some people.

Why do hospitals serve Jell-O? ›

There are a few reasons: Jell-O is easy to swallow and digest, making it suitable for patients who have difficulty eating solid foods or have digestive issues. It's smooth texture and mild flavor make it more tolerable for those with sensitive stomachs or who are recovering from surgery.

Is Jell-O good for arthritis? ›

The collagen in gelatin gets broken down when you eat it. It wouldn't travel directly to your joints. Nonetheless, there is some evidence that gelatin could help ease joint pain in people with osteoarthritis. In animal studies, gelatin supplements also reduced swelling caused by rheumatoid arthritis.

Is Jell-O good for your gut? ›

Gelatin provides amino acids like glycine that strengthen the gut lining and therefore lower inflammation. Glycine is used by doctors to help improve digestive, joint, cardiovascular, cognitive and skin health.

Why do Muslims not eat gelatin? ›

The major source of gelatin is pigskin and is using in processed food and medicinal products. Though the use of food products adulterated with porcine-derived gelatin create concerns in the mind of Muslim communities, as in Islam; it is not acceptable or literally, it is called Haram in Islam Religion.

Is Jell O gelatin good for you? ›

Is Jell-O good for you? It's not unhealthy, but it's not particularly healthy, either. Sabat says, “As for its healthiness, gelatin itself is a source of protein and contains essential amino acids, but it lacks other nutrients. It is low in calories and fat, and it doesn't contain cholesterol.

Why do people not eat gelatin? ›

Gelatin is a byproduct of the meat industry, like leather. Vegans and vegetarians don't buy these products, because animals have to die to create them. Luckily, you don't need animal bones to enjoy a roasted marshmallow, thicken yogurt or even to make jello-like treats.

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Zonia Mosciski DO

Last Updated: 01/15/2024

Views: 5607

Rating: 4 / 5 (71 voted)

Reviews: 94% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Zonia Mosciski DO

Birthday: 1996-05-16

Address: Suite 228 919 Deana Ford, Lake Meridithberg, NE 60017-4257

Phone: +2613987384138

Job: Chief Retail Officer

Hobby: Tai chi, Dowsing, Poi, Letterboxing, Watching movies, Video gaming, Singing

Introduction: My name is Zonia Mosciski DO, I am a enchanting, joyous, lovely, successful, hilarious, tender, outstanding person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.