Cool Whip is a creamy topping that can elevate any dessert, from pies to fruit salads. Its smooth texture and refreshing taste make it a popular dessert topper for many.
However, is Cool Whip gluten-free? Let’s dive into what Cool Whip is and if it is safe for gluten-free diets.
- What Is Cool Whip?
- Answer: Is Cool Whip Gluten Free?
- What Is The Difference Between Cool Whip And Whipped Cream?
- Dairy-Free Cool Whip Alternatives:
- Ways To Use Cool Whip:
- 💬 Comments
What Is Cool Whip?
Also known as “whipped topping,” Cool Whip is a brand of imitation whipped cream made by Kraft. It is usually used as a dessert topping, but it can be used in some recipes. Many use Cool Whip to get the same creaminess of whipped cream but with a firmer texture.
Cool Whip keeps its texture and does not melt as whipped cream does. It can be frozen without changing texture or taste, making it a convenient substitute for whipped cream.
There are different kinds of Cool Whip, like sugar-free, extra creamy, or no fat.
Be sure to check out which condiments are gluten free. Some may surprise you!
Answer: Is Cool Whip Gluten Free?
Yes! As of now, Cool Whip is gluten-free - all varieties!! Eating is entirely safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Cool Whip is not a dairy-free product, but there are no gluten-containing ingredients and cross-contamination issues.
Though Cool Whip does not have a “gluten-free” label, Kraft assures on their website that the product is free from traces of gluten. However, checking the label as ingredients and manufacturing procedures change is always best.
Currently, all flavors of Cool Whip are gluten-free as well. So, enjoy your gluten-free dessert with as much Cool Whip as you like!
What Is The Difference Between Cool Whip And Whipped Cream?
Though the two may seem similar, Cool Whip and whipped cream are not the same things. The biggest difference is their ingredients. Cool Whip includes: skim milk, corn syrup, vegetable oil, and light cream. On the other hand, whipped cream is made only from heavy whipping cream. The additional ingredients in Cool Whip help it keep its texture so well.
The difference in ingredients also gives the two creams a difference in texture and appearance. Whipped cream, as its name suggests, is light and fluffy. But, Cool Whip is denser and looks more like sour cream than whipped cream.
Dairy-Free Cool Whip Alternatives:
When writing this post, all Cool Whip flavors and varieties are gluten-free, but always check the ingredient’s label just to ensure. Also, here are some other fantastic gluten-free whipped toppings (with vegan choices!).
- TruWhip - Healthier and my personal favorite. It doesn't contain corn syrup.)
- So Delicious Coco Whip
- Sweet Rose Coconut Whipped Topping
Cool Whip and its different flavors and varieties are gluten-free. Most other whipped topping brands are also gluten-free. However, it is always best to check the ingredient list, as manufacturing processes can change over time.
Ways To Use Cool Whip:
If you love the recipes you find on my blog, I would love for you to sign up for my newsletter (and get my free gluten free lemon dessert e-cookbook!)
Because the only allergen listed on the Cool Whip ingredient label is milk, we know that Cool Whip is in fact gluten-free. Cool Whip is, however, a dairy product. If you're searching for a whipped topping that is both gluten-free and dairy-free, turn to Truwhip Vegan or So Delicious' Cocowhip or Cocowhip Light.Can celiacs eat Cool Whip? ›
Cool Whip is considered safe to consume for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance, provided no gluten-ingredients or related allergen statements are listed on the label.Can celiacs eat whipped cream? ›
Whipped cream is typically gluten-free. Processed whipped cream such as Cool Whip and Reddi-Whip are considered gluten-free. Homemade whipped-cream (made from just cream) is gluten-free. If you're somewhere where they are making their own whipped cream, always ask what ingredients they are using.Is Philadelphia cream cheese safe for celiacs? ›
In short, cream cheese is naturally gluten-free. Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese blocks and plain whipped cream cheeses are not made with any gluten-containing ingredients and should be safe for those with celiac disease.Is Great Value Cool Whip gluten-free? ›
This decadent whipped topping is not only delicious, but it's also the perfect accompaniment to tasty treats and a healthy lifestyle with just one gram of sugar per serving, zero grams of trans fats, and zero gluten.
Though Cool Whip does not have a “gluten-free” label, Kraft assures on their website that the product is free from traces of gluten. However, checking the label as ingredients and manufacturing procedures change is always best. Currently, all flavors of Cool Whip are gluten-free as well.Can gluten-free have Miracle Whip? ›
Miracle whip was created as a cheaper alternative to mayonnaise so that it could be used in the same manner. Fortunately, Kraft's Miracle Whip is also gluten-free. Other brands are likely gluten-free as well, but always check the label for further information.Does Reddi Whip have gluten? ›
All varieties and flavors of Reddi-Wip have been validated gluten-free by Reddi-Wip's parent company ConAgra.Can celiacs use lotion with gluten? ›
In terms of skincare, it is optional but not required to use gluten-free skincare/cosmetics for those with celiac disease, as gluten cannot penetrate the skin.What ice cream can celiacs eat? ›
Generally, plain single flavour ice cream flavours such as strawberry, vanilla or chocolate are more likely to be gluten free. If the ice cream contains baked products, such as cookie dough or brownies, then it is more likely to contain gluten.
The beloved creamy dressing is typically available gluten-free, but be careful. Hidden Valley makes both Original Ranch Homestyle and Original Ranch Light gluten-free, but Organic Ranch is not GF. It's tricky, so always check the label!
For a dairy-free and Certified Gluten-Free ice cream option that is also USDA Organic, try Luna & Larry's, Coconut Bliss, and Vanilla Island. The short ingredient list is a bonus, made with coconut milk, coconut syrup, coconut cream, vanilla extract, and vanilla bean.Does ketchup have gluten? ›
Ketchup doesn't contain wheat, barley, or rye. As such, it's a naturally gluten-free product. However, some brands may use wheat-derived vinegar or produce their ketchup in a facility that manufactures other gluten-containing foods, which may contaminate it.Does Jello have gluten in it? ›
The good news is jello is gluten free! It can be eaten and enjoyed by those with both celiac disease and gluten intolerance. Also, note that vegan jello is also gluten free! Jello is also dairy-free and egg-free, making it a great dessert for those with other food allergies.Is Jello and Cool Whip gluten-free? ›
Most people consider Jello pudding gluten-free, but because it's not made in a gluten-free facility, it's not certified gluten-free. Is Cool Whip gluten-free? Yes, Cool Whip is gluten-free and safe to eat on a gluten-free diet.Does condensed milk contain gluten? ›
Condensed Milk is gluten free. Condensed Milk should be safe for patients with celiac and other gluten-related disorders. Fig's dietitians reviewed this note on condensed milk. Check ingredients faster with the free Fig app!Can celiacs eat mayonnaise? ›
Mayonnaise or “mayo” is typically made from naturally gluten-free ingredients: eggs, oil, vinegar, lemon and sometimes mustard/mustard seed or other spices. Mayo brands that have a gluten-free label have passed thorough testing and are safe to eat for people with celiac disease.Is Cool Whip OK for IBS? ›
No. This product is not low FODMAP as it lists 2 ingredients that are likely high FODMAP at 1 serving.