Sources of gluten in ice cream
Milk and cream are the basic ingredients of ice cream and are naturally gluten free. However, the flavour of the ice cream and the environment it is made in can make it unsuitable for coeliacs.
Sources of gluten in ice cream can include thickeners, colourings and flavourings such as barley malt syrup.
What about the extras? Ice cream cones are generally not gluten free and some sprinkles, chocolate and sweet sauces/syrups can contain gluten.
It’s important to always check the label for gluten-containing ingredients and “may contain” warnings which means that there is a risk of cross contamination during the manufacturing process. If the label lists gluten, wheat, Khorasan wheat (kamut), spelt, oats, barley and rye, then it isn’t suitable for people with coeliac disease.
Gluten free ice cream
Generally, plain single flavour ice cream flavours such as strawberry, vanilla or chocolate are more likely to be gluten free. If the ice cream contains baked products, such as cookie dough or brownies, then it is more likely to contain gluten. Always check the label to be safe!
Some ice creams brands offer a certified gluten free range which is the safest option for coeliacs.
Ordering ice cream out
If you want to pop by an ice cream van or a gelato shop, you need to consider the risks of cross contamination. Make sure you ask which ice creams are gluten free and that the server has an awareness of cross contamination as separate scoops and utensils are needed for the gluten free ice cream, cones and sprinkles.
We hope these tips help you cool down this summer! Visit our Living Gluten Free section for more tips on cross contamination and advice on coping with coeliac disease from diagnosed coeliacs.
Milk and cream are the basic ingredients of ice cream and are naturally gluten free. However, the flavour of the ice cream and the environment it is made in can make it unsuitable for coeliacs. Sources of gluten in ice cream can include thickeners, colourings and flavourings such as barley malt syrup.Is Dairy Queen ice cream celiac safe? ›
Vanilla and chocolate soft serve ice creams, plus several different possible toppings, all make the gluten-free list. Dairy Queen cautions that many of its Blizzard treats contain gluten and all are made in the same machine, so you may want to steer clear of Blizzards to avoid potential cross-contamination.
Can celiacs eat Breyers ice cream? Yes, many Breyers ice cream options are safe for celiacs. Note that some of their products have a green “gluten free” label, but others that they clearly list as gluten free on their website don't have the same GF label on the product package.Can Coeliacs eat vanilla ice cream? ›
Ice cream can be gluten-free depending on its ingredients and how it's processed. Common, single flavor ice creams such as strawberry, vanilla, chocolate, or coffee are often gluten-free. However, review the ingredient list for additional additives, starches or flavorings that contain gluten.What ice cream brands are celiac safe? ›
- Ben & Jerry's.
- Alden's Organics.
- Straus Family Creamery.
- Coconut Bliss (dairy-free)
- So Delicious (dairy-free)
- Nada Moo (dairy-free)
Generally, plain single flavour ice cream flavours such as strawberry, vanilla or chocolate are more likely to be gluten free. If the ice cream contains baked products, such as cookie dough or brownies, then it is more likely to contain gluten. Always check the label to be safe!Can celiacs eat Cool Whip? ›
Yes! As of now, Cool Whip is gluten-free - all varieties!! Eating is entirely safe for those with Celiac disease or gluten intolerance. Cool Whip is not a dairy-free product, but there are no gluten-containing ingredients and cross-contamination issues.Is there an ice cream that is dairy free & gluten-free? ›
This non-dairy flavor joins Ben & Jerry's as their sixth non-dairy and gluten-free ice cream alongside Cherry Garcia, Phish Food, Bananas Foster, Boom Chocolatta, and Karamel Sutra Core. The flavor is a full-time addition to Ben & Jerry's non-dairy offerings and is available in stores now across the U.S.Is Blue Bell ice cream safe for celiacs? ›
Yes! They are labeled gluten free and fat free on the Blue Bell website.Are Doritos gluten-free? ›
Most Doritos do not have gluten-containing ingredients but are not tested for levels of gluten. This means they may have been affected by gluten cross-contamination. Therefore, those with celiac disease or high sensitivity to gluten should avoid eating Doritos.
Vanilla flavored ice cream with vanilla bean specks. Gluten free. At Turkey Hill, we make family moments delicious. We use quality ingredients to make our premium ice cream - you really can taste the difference.Can celiacs eat ice cream cake? ›
It depends on the cake. Some ice cream cakes contain cake, which is made from wheat flour and is not gluten-free. Others use ice cream made with additives that are not safe for a gluten-free diet. If you're not sure, check the ingredients label and look for gluten-containing ingredients.Can coeliacs eat cream cheese? ›
In short, cream cheese is naturally gluten-free. Philadelphia Brand Cream Cheese blocks and plain whipped cream cheeses are not made with any gluten-containing ingredients and should be safe for those with celiac disease.Are French fries gluten-free? ›
Do French Fries have Gluten? Most French fries are made with naturally gluten-free ingredients, including potatoes, oil, and salt. However, some restaurants cook them in a fryer that is used for other foods that contain gluten (like chicken tenders or nuggets).Is icing sugar OK for coeliacs? ›
Icing sugar is gluten-free and is made without gluten-containing ingredients. It can be used to make all types of glace icing, buttercream and frosting.Does Dairy Queen ice cream have wheat in it? ›
The ice cream from Dairy Queen does not have any wheat ingredients, however the company does not specifically state that any of their menu items are gluten-free. This is due to the high probability of cross contamination with other ingredients in the restaurant.Are Dairy Queen fries celiac safe? ›
Are Dairy Queen fries gluten-free? Dairy Queen does not list their fries as containing wheat ingredients on their allergen brochure. That said, their fries are made in a shared fryer with other food that contains gluten, like their crispy chicken for sandwiches.Does dairy bother celiacs? ›
People with celiac disease may be lactose intolerant because their small intestine is damaged. They cannot break down lactose well. However, unlike gluten exposure in people with celiac disease, lactose does not damage your intestine.Can celiacs eat butter icing? ›
Yes, plain butter is gluten-free because it is made from naturally gluten-free cow's milk and cream. Salt and coloring may be added; these are also gluten-free. If you are a celiac patient or following a gluten-free diet for other reasons, you may consume plain butter with confidence!