To follow a gluten-free diet, you must avoid wheat and some other grains while choosing substitutes that provide nutrients for a healthy diet.
To follow a gluten-free diet, you must avoid wheat and some other grains while choosing substitutes that provide nutrients for a healthy diet.By Mayo Clinic Staff
A gluten-free diet is an eating plan that excludes foods containing gluten. Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and triticale (a cross between wheat and rye).
A gluten-free diet is essential for managing signs and symptoms of celiac disease and other medical conditions associated with gluten.
A gluten-free diet is also popular among people who haven't been diagnosed with a gluten-related medical condition. The claimed benefits of the diet are improved health, weight loss and increased energy, but more research is needed.
- Celiac disease is a condition in which gluten triggers immune system activity that damages the lining of the small intestine. Over time this damage prevents the absorption of nutrients from food. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder.
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity causes some signs and symptoms associated with celiac disease — including abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, "foggy brain," rash or headache — even though there is no damage to the tissues of the small intestine. Studies show that the immune system plays a role, but the process isn't well understood.
- Gluten ataxia, an autoimmune disorder, affects certain nerve tissues and causes problems with muscle control and voluntary muscle movement.
- Wheat allergy, like other food allergies, is the result of the immune system mistaking gluten or some other protein found in wheat as a disease-causing agent, such as a virus or bacterium. The immune system creates an antibody to the protein, prompting an immune system response that may result in congestion, breathing difficulties and other symptoms.
Following a gluten-free diet requires paying careful attention to food selections, the ingredients found in foods, and their nutritional content.
Allowed fresh foods
Many naturally gluten-free foods can be a part of a healthy diet:
- Fruits and vegetables
- Beans, seeds, legumes and nuts in their natural, unprocessed forms
- Lean, nonprocessed meats, fish and poultry
- Most low-fat dairy products
Grains, starches or flours that can be part of a gluten-free diet include:
- Corn — cornmeal, grits and polenta labeled gluten-free
- Gluten-free flours — rice, soy, corn, potato and bean flours
- Hominy (corn)
- Rice, including wild rice
- Tapioca (cassava root)
Grains not allowed
Avoid all foods and drinks containing the following:
- Triticale — a cross between wheat and rye
- Oats, in some cases
While oats are naturally gluten-free, they may be contaminated during production with wheat, barley or rye. Oats and oat products labeled gluten-free have not been cross-contaminated. Some people with celiac disease, however, cannot tolerate the gluten-free-labeled oats.
Wheat terms to know
There are different varieties of wheat, all of which contain wheat gluten:
Wheat flours have different names based on how the wheat is milled or the flour is processed. All of the following flours have gluten:
- Enriched flour with added vitamins and minerals
- Farina, milled wheat usually used in hot cereals
- Graham flour, a course whole-wheat flour
- Self-rising flour, also called phosphate flour
- Semolina, the part of milled wheat used in pasta and couscous
Gluten-free food labels
When you are buying processed foods, you need to read labels to determine if they contain gluten. Foods that contain wheat, barley, rye or triticale — or an ingredient derived from them — must be labeled with the name of the grain in the label's content list.
Foods that are labeled gluten-free, according to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration rules, must have fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten. Foods with these labels may include:
- Naturally gluten-free food
- A prepared food that doesn't have a gluten-containing ingredient
- Food that has not been cross-contaminated with gluten-containing ingredients during production
- Food with a gluten-containing ingredient that has been processed to remove gluten
Alcoholic beverages made from naturally gluten-free ingredients, such as grapes or juniper berries, can be labeled gluten-free.
An alcoholic beverage made from a gluten-containing grain (wheat, barley, rye and hybrid grains such as triticale) can carry a label stating the beverage was "processed," "treated" or "crafted" to remove gluten. However, the label must state that gluten content cannot be determined and the beverage may contain some gluten. These beverages may not be labeled gluten-free.
Processed foods that often contain gluten
In addition to foods in which wheat, barley and rye are likely ingredients, these grains are standard ingredients in a number of other products. Also, wheat or wheat gluten is added as a thickening or binding agent, flavoring, or coloring. It's important to read labels of processed foods to determine if they contain wheat, as well as barley and rye.
In general, avoid the following foods unless they're labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:
- Beer, ale, porter, stout (usually contain barley)
- Bulgur wheat
- Cakes and pies
- Communion wafers
- Cookies and crackers
- French fries
- Imitation meat or seafood
- Malt, malt flavoring and other malt products (barley)
- Hot dogs and processed lunchmeats
- Salad dressings
- Sauces, including soy sauce (wheat)
- Seasoned rice mixes
- Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
- Self-basting poultry
- Soups, bouillon or soup mixes
- Vegetables in sauce
Medications and supplements
Prescription and over-the-counter medications may use wheat gluten as a binding agent. Talk to your doctor or pharmacist about the drugs you're taking. Dietary supplements that contain wheat gluten must have "wheat" stated on the label.
Eating gluten-free at home and in restaurants
For people with celiac disease, in particular, it's important to avoid exposure to gluten. The following tips can help you prevent cross-contamination in your own food preparations at home and avoid gluten-containing food when you eat out:
- Store gluten-free and gluten-containing foods in different places.
- Keep cooking surfaces and food storage areas clean.
- Wash dishes and cooking equipment thoroughly.
- Toast bread in the oven — or consider separate toasters — to avoid cross-contamination.
- Read restaurant menus online ahead of time if possible to be sure there are options for you.
- Eat out early or late when a restaurant is less busy and better able to address your needs.
Keeping a strict gluten-free diet is a lifelong necessity for people with celiac disease. Following the diet and avoiding cross-contamination results in fewer symptoms and complications of the disease.
For some people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the condition may not be lifelong. Some research suggests that you may follow the diet for a certain period, such as one or two years, and then retest your sensitivity to gluten. For other people with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, the diet may be a lifelong treatment.
Some clinical studies have looked at the benefits of the diet among people who do not have celiac disease or who have non-celiac gluten sensitivity. More research is needed to determine the accuracy of the following claims about the diet's results:
- Weight loss
- Overall improved health
- Improved gastrointestinal health
- Improved athletic performance
The foods not included in a gluten-free diet provide important vitamins and other nutrients. For example, whole-grain breads and other products are natural or enriched sources of the following:
Therefore, following a gluten-free diet will likely change your nutrient intake. Some gluten-free breads and cereals have significantly varied nutrient levels compared with the products they are replacing.
Some gluten-free foods also have higher fat and sugar contents than the gluten-containing food being replaced. It's important to read labels, not only for gluten content but also for overall nutrient levels, salt, calories from fats and calories from sugars.
You can talk to your doctor or dietitian about foods that would provide healthy, nutrient-rich alternatives.
The costs of prepared gluten-free foods are generally higher than the cost of the foods being replaced. The expense of following a gluten-free diet can be substantial, especially if your diet includes foods that aren't naturally gluten-free.
From Mayo Clinic to your inbox
Sign up for free and stay up to date on research advancements, health tips, current health topics, and expertise on managing health. Click here for an email preview.
To provide you with the most relevant and helpful information, and understand which information is beneficial, we may combine your email and website usage information with other information we have about you. If you are a Mayo Clinic patient, this could include protected health information. If we combine this information with your protected health information, we will treat all of that information as protected health information and will only use or disclose that information as set forth in our notice of privacy practices. You may opt-out of email communications at any time by clicking on the unsubscribe link in the e-mail.
Dec. 11, 2021
- Questions and answers: Gluten-free food labeling final rule. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. https://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/GuidanceDocumentsRegulatoryInformation/Allergens/ucm362880.htm. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Ciacci C, et al. The gluten-free diet and its current application in coeliac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis. United European Gastroenterology. 2015; doi:10.11772050640614559263.
- Freeman AM, et al. Trending cardiovascular nutrition controversies. Journal of the American College of Cardiology. 2017; doi:10.1016/j.jacc.2016.10.086.
- Newberry C, et al. Going gluten free: The history and nutritional implications of today's most popular diet. Current Gastroenterology Reports. 2017; doi:10.1007/s11894-017-0597-2.
- Gluten-free diet. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Ehteshami M, et al. The effect of gluten free diet on components of metabolic syndrome: A randomized clinical trial. Asian Pacific Journal of Cancer Prevention. 2018; doi:10.22034/APJCP.2018.19.10.2979.
- Fry L, et al. An investigation into the nutritional composition and cost of gluten-free versus regular food products in the UK. Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics. 2018; doi:10.1111/jhn.12502.
- Leonard MM, et al. Celiac disease and nonceliac gluten sensitivity: A review. JAMA. 2017; doi:10.1001/jama.2017.9730.
- Mitoma H, et al. Immune-mediated cerebellar ataxias: From bench to bedside. Cerebellum & Ataxias. 2017; doi:10.1186/s40673-017-0073-7.
- Zis P, et al. Treatment of neurological manifestations of gluten sensitivity and coeliac disease. Current Treatment Options in Neurology. 2019; doi:10.1007/s11940-019-0552-7.
- Celiac disease healthy eating tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Celiac disease nutrition therapy. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Celiac disease label reading tips. Nutrition Care Manual. Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. https://www.nutritioncaremanual.org. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Revised interim policy on gluten content statements in the labeling and advertising of wine, distilled spirits, and malt beverages. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. https://www.ttb.gov/images/pdfs/rulings/2014-2.pdf. Accessed Nov. 3, 2019.
- Duyff RL. Cope with food allergies and other food sensitivities. In: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics Complete Food and Nutrition Guide. 5th ed. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt; 2017.
- Lee AR, et al. Persistent economic burden of the gluten free diet. Nutrients. 2019; doi: 10.3390/nu11020399.
See more In-depth
Products and Services
- Butter or margarine: Which is healthier?
- Butter vs. margarine
- Caffeine content
- Clear liquid diet
- DASH diet
- DASH diet
- DASH diet: Recommended servings
- Sample DASH menus
- DASH diet: Shopping and cooking tips
- Diverticulitis attack triggers
- Diverticulitis diet
- Don't grocery shop on an empty stomach
- Eggs and cholesterol
- Enlarged prostate: Does diet play a role?
- Fasting diet: Can it improve my heart health?
- Gluten sensitivity and psoriasis: What's the connection?
- Gout diet: What's allowed, what's not
- Grocery store secret: Shop the perimeter
- Slide show: Heart-healthy eating after acute coronary syndrome
- Intermittent fasting
- Low-fiber diet
- Low-glycemic index diet
- Mediterranean diet
- Paleo diet
- Picnic Problems: High Sodium
- Mediterranean diet
- Nutrition and pain
- Vegetarian diet
- Water after meals
- What is meant by the term "heart age"?
There's no evidence to suggest that it's necessary to exclude all grains from your diet to attain these benefits. A grain-free diet may reduce inflammation, aid weight loss, and improve digestion and blood sugar levels.What happens when you stop eating grain? ›
It could lead to nutritional deficiencies.
"Whole grains multitask by providing a powerhouse of nutrients like fiber, B vitamins, folate, protein, iron, antioxidants, and much more," Taub-Dix says. "Grains that are enriched can make up for nutrients we may not get in our diets from other foods, like iron.
Gluten and wheat products may be connected to the development of leaky gut syndrome. Therefore, eating grain-free may help improve food sensitivities, thyroid problems, fatigue, headaches, skin issues, and weight gain.What happens when you cut out wheat? ›
Eliminate wheat and your appetite diminishes on its own. Wheat also causes blood sugar spikes, and elevated blood-sugar levels can cause your body to store calories as fat. Lower your blood sugar by eliminating wheat, and it can contribute to weight loss.What are the healthiest grains to eat? ›
- Brown Rice. 1/17. In the world of whole grains, you can argue this is the original star. ...
- Sorghum. 2/17. Many cultures enjoy this ancient cereal grain. ...
- Buckwheat. 3/17. It isn't a grain or a wheat. ...
- Barley. 4/17. ...
- Oats. 5/17. ...
- Millet. 6/17. ...
- Quinoa. 7/17. ...
- Bulgur. 8/17.
Oats do not inherently contain gluten. The reason they are often included in the list of grains that people on a gluten free diet should avoid is because oats have historically been grown with or around gluten-containing grains.Do grains damage the gut? ›
Because you don't completely digest them, grains, pseudograins, and legumes pass through your gut barrier intact. This helps to increase the permeability of the gut barrier in two ways. First, by damaging the cells that line the gut and second, by causing an inflammatory response once outside the gut.Why do grains cause inflammation? ›
The premise behind going grain-free is at least partially based on lectins – carbohydrate-binding proteins found in grains. Some research suggests lectins bind to carbohydrate-specific receptors on immune cells called lymphocytes, triggering an inflammatory response.What to eat instead of bread? ›
- Corn, reduced-carb or whole-grain tortillas.
- Cheese wraps or cheese slices.
- Coconut wraps.
- Cauliflower bread.
- Cucumber slices.
- Sweet potato slices.
- Bell pepper slices.
- Portobello mushrooms.
Potatoes aren't grains, they're a type of starchy vegetable. That's good news for people who can't tolerate gluten because they have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
Veterinarians sometimes recommend grain-free diets for animals who have grain sensitivities because removing grains from their diet often improves skin problems, allergies, digestive problems, and frequently impacted anal glands.Is grain-free better or worse? ›
Grain-free diets replace grains such as rice and corn with potatoes or legumes (beans, peas, and lentils) as a carbohydrate source. No study has ever shown grain-free to be superior to grain-inclusive diets.Is rice considered a grain? ›
What foods are in the Grains Group? Foods made from wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley, or another cereal grain is a grain product. Bread, pasta, breakfast cereals, grits, and tortillas are examples of grain products. Foods such as popcorn, rice, and oatmeal are also included in the Grains Group.What nutrients are you missing if you don't eat grains? ›
For those that can not eat (or choose not to eat) grains, you'll need to be sure to get the nutrients found in grains (fiber, B vitamins, magnesium, zinc, protein, iron and potassium) from other whole food sources.How can I get B vitamins without eating grains? ›
Some top sources of B vitamins include meat (especially liver), seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, legumes, leafy greens, seeds, and fortified foods, such as breakfast cereal and nutritional yeast.Why are grains so important? ›
Grains are so important because they are a good source of important nutrients called carbohydrates. Carbohydrates are a type of sugar that provides energy for organisms to function. Grains have carbohydrates as well as other important nutrients, such as vitamins.