The No-Nonsense Guide to App Advertising - Google AdMob (2024)

With more and more people using free apps, developers are turning to in-app advertising as a way to generate reliable income. The No-Nonsense Guide to In-App Ads by Google AdMob will give you an overview on how to make money from ads, how it works, how to choose the right brand-safe advertising network, and all the ad lingo you can handle so that you can start implementing in-app advertising into your mobile app.

We will cover the following sections in the Guide:

1. How an app business makes money from advertising

Imagine you owned a popular cookie shop on a busy street. With so many people seeing your storefront every day, and to make some additional revenue, you decide to sell ad space in the window and on walls - space known as inventory. You reach out to the neighborhood and soon other businesses paying you to feature their ads. As a mobile app developer, your app is similar to a busy storefront: people visit your app every day, you can display ads in your app, and businesses want to advertise to your users.

But because it’s digital, in-app ads offer several benefits, such as measuring how many people have looked at the ads, easily localizing for each market, and using a variety of ad formats to deliver the best experience to your users.

2. How pay-per-click advertising works

Digital advertising offers several models, and one of the most popular is the pay-per-click model (or PPC model), where advertisers only pay when someone clicks on their ad. If a user sees an ad but doesn’t click on it, advertisers don’t pay.

The PPC model aligns the interests of advertisers, app developers, and users. As digital advertising has matured, additional “pay for performance” advertising models have emerged like “pay per download” and “pay per acquisition”, all designed to better align interests

3. What’s an ad network?

Ad networks automate the process of buying and selling ads. They build relationships with businesses looking to advertise and apps looking to make money by selling ads inventory. Advertisers get access to lots of different inventory in apps at scale and app developers are able find advertisers quickly. As app owners, ad networks help you spend less time marketing your ad space and more time on creating the best app for your users.

4. How to choose the right ad network for your app

There are lots of factors to consider when choosing an add network. A few key questions to ask are:

How much revenue can the ad network bring you? Look at an ad network’s “effective cost per mille” or eCPM for short (referring to 1,000 impressions). eCPM is calculated by dividing total earnings by total number of impressions in thousands and will give you a standard to compare different ad networks’ payouts.

How much demand does the ad network have available? Evaluate an ad network’s “fill rate”. Fill rate is the number of times an ad network delivers an ad to an app divided by the number of times that app requested an ad.

What experience will the ad network provide your users and you?

This is combination of a number of factors:

1) The type of ad formats the ad network can offer.

2) The quality of the advertisers on an ad network — known as “brand-safe advertising” — so users see ads that don’t disrupt their app experience and in turn damage your brand

3) Is the ad network’s technology reliable and easy to use?

4) How quickly and easily can an ad network pay you?

Download the complete guide on the right to learn more about how to launch your app business with advertising. And let us know about your feedback on Twitter.

The No-Nonsense Guide to App Advertising - Google AdMob (2024)

FAQs

How much can I earn with AdMob with 100 daily app users? ›

So concludingly, let's say your app has 100 DAU and for instance, each user views 10 ad impressions every day, which equals 1000 impressions each day. Now, depending on the eCPM, ad earnings can be anywhere between $0.5 to $10.

How much does AdMob pay per 1000 views? ›

AdMob Payment

Moreover, the CPM rates for AdMob may vary from $0.2 to $10 per 1,000 impressions based on the location of your app users, adding yet another variable into revenue calculation. Google AdSense pays publishers via the following payment methods: Check.

Is there anything better than AdMob? ›

Other important factors to consider when researching alternatives to Google AdMob include reliability and ease of use. The best overall Google AdMob alternative is Facebook Audience Network. Other similar apps like Google AdMob are Unity Ads, Leadbolt, TapJoy, and Appodeal.

How much does Google pay for ads in the Android app? ›

How much can my free Android app with 1 million downloads and 10% active users using app daily for 10 min earn by showing full size interstitial ads every 1 minute? 10*100,000 = 1,000,000 impressions a day. So, the earnings with $0.05 CPC you get: 1,000,000*0.05 = $50,000 per day.

How much does an app with 500k downloads make? ›

Assume you have a total download of 500k. Assume you have 40% Daily Active Users: 40%, making a total of 200,000 DAU. If one person views two ads per day, the total number of ads viewed is 200,000*2. Revenue/day = If the eCPM is $0.01, 400,000*0.01 equals $4000.

How much money will my app make if it has 100000 downloads? ›

The amount of money which you can earn from your app on playstore does not depend on the number of downloads it has but the number of active users it has per month, per week or even per day.

Which pays more Unity ads or AdMob? ›

Which is the best ad network, AdMob or Unity Ads? Unity ads are most effective when used by game publishers and app developers. It has the best ad formats, notably video ads and rewarded video ads. AdMob, compared to Unity, offers native, interstitial, and rewarded video ads as its preferred ad types.

Which app ad network pays the most? ›

The highest-paying ad networks for publishers
  1. SmartyAds SSP. SmartyAds SSP (supply-side platform) is a CPM programmatic solution that allows you to monetize your ad inventory effectively. ...
  2. Google AdSense. ...
  3. Media.net. ...
  4. Propeller Ads. ...
  5. Adsterra. ...
  6. Ezoic. ...
  7. Publift. ...
  8. Snigel.
Nov 29, 2023

Does AdSense pay more than AdMob? ›

If your primary goal is to maximize revenue, AdMob may be the better choice as it generally offers higher ad rates for mobile apps. However, if you value flexibility and ease of use, AdSense may be the better option. Ultimately, deciding which platform to use depends on your specific needs and goals.

Does AdMob pay per view or click? ›

With this model, you earn revenue each time a user clicks on an ad displayed in your app. The amount you earn per click depends on factors such as the advertiser's bid, the type of ad, and the user's location and demographics.

How much does a 1000 app download make? ›

However, on average, an app makes only $0.004 per download. So, with 1000 downloads, you'd make about $4. The money you make from your app won't just come from how many people download it. Factors like how you make money from the app, how much people use it, and the type of app it is will also play a big role.

How much does a mobile game with 1 million downloads make? ›

Case Study 1: A Freemium Game

With a well-executed freemium model, this game achieved 1 million downloads. Through in-app purchases, the app earned an average of $0.50 per user, resulting in a total revenue of $500,000.

How much money does an app with 1,000 users make? ›

Impact of User Engagement on Earnings
Daily Active Users (DAU)Potential Daily Revenue
1000$3 – $7
250-300$8 – $10 daily
Jul 19, 2024

How much does an app with 10,000 users make? ›

10000 users x 100 ads = 1000000 ads. if ecpm is 1$ per day (depending on the region of the users, It may be more or less) then revenue per day would be 1000000/1000*1 $ = approx 1000$ per day. or 1000*30 = 30000$ monthly.

How much does Playstore pay for 1000 downloads? ›

1000 downloads in play store just tell the count of total downloads of the app. And coming to the earning , it depends on the usage of your app and number of click on advertisem*nt displayed in your app.. Approximately more than 10$ per day if it is heavily used. And will below 1$ if less users.

Which AdMob pays the most? ›

In general, rewarded ads pay more than interstitial ads. This is because rewarded ads are more engaging and users are more likely to watch them all the way through. Rewarded ads also allow you to offer users a reward, such as in-game currency or a bonus level, for watching the ad.

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